Remember the Days…..

2

September 7, 2012 by trixiec67

Gee, it’s already September and the kiddies are back at school. Can I get an “Amen”? The entire month of August just seemed to evade me. I didn’t even realize that I never posted once. I had plenty of thoughts running through my crazy little mind. I just didn’t think they were worthy enough to post on the blog.

I try to be witty. I try to be upbeat when I post. I am sarcastic for the most part. However, I don’t want to be a wet rag and bring people down. There are those that rant and if done properly, can be entertaining, even informative. I don’t want to just sit around and bitch about stuff.

I hate to sound like an old fart, but what they say is true. The older you get, the faster time goes. I remember the summer break from school feeling like it lasted a life-time. Riding my bike until dusk. Playing hop scotch with neighbors or “red light, green light”  and hanging at my best friend’s house in the back yard playing Statego or Scrabble. Now summer feels like a long, torturous break of listening to my offspring screech at each other. At least it doesn’t feel like a life-time. But it’s a long three-month headache. “Can I go to my friend’s house?” “Can she spend the night here?” “Can I spend the night there?” “How come my sister gets to go all the time?” “Can my friend come over?” And let’s not forget the fights I have to referee. Have the antibiotic ointment on hand for the  scratches and the ice packs for the poundings. You’d think the mini WWE (which is NOT allowed to be watched in this house) was being filmed here.

So they started school this past Wednesday. In Michigan, thanks to our past Governor, Jennifer Grandmole, oh I meant Grandholm, PUBLIC schools must begin after Labor Day. The kids used to go back at the end of August. Now only the private schools can do that.

Of course, along with the regular school year, everything else starts back up as well. I really do need to buy myself a chauffeur’s hat. Along with the regular school schedule, we will now have, between the two darlings; Cub Scouts, Religious Education, Karate, and Dancing. Dancing entails ballet, tap, hip-hop and point. Point means our kid gets to now  torture her feet and dance on wooden blocks in here ballet shoes padded by mounds of cotton batting. Oh yeah. I hope all these things fall on different days of the week or I am SOL!

And of course, all this is balanced in between making and keeping doctors’ appointments and the like for my dear mother and myself. I’m just driving Miss Daisy and her precious petunias around. Call me Hulk.

2 thoughts on “Remember the Days…..

  1. Thanks to our psycho Governor, the kid started school in the third week of August……… he’s already been in school 6 weeks now! gah! I NEVER started school until after Labor day when I was a kid………………

    • trixiec67 says:

      I remember starting after Labor Day. Then my kids used to start at the end of Aug. which was nice because they got out a little earlier. No school is air conditioned and it starts to get nasty in June. It’s all in the name of the all mighty dollar.

Leave a Reply

