Blue Moon

Leave a comment

July 16, 2012 by trixiec67

This morning while I had nothing better to do while waiting for my mother to finish with her appointment, I sat flipping through my date book. You know that old-fashioned paper calendar that people (women) like me carry in their purses and write in with a pen. We write down things like doctor’s appointments and people’s birthday’s and anniversary’s. We live in the dark ages. No palm pads. No iPads or iPods or any other electronics things to store information on. Just a book of pages with numbered squares and our beloved ink pens.

The benefit to these archaic little books is that the producers of these books have already gone through the trouble of printing out all the special holidays of the year on the squares. You can flip through the book and know what day of the week Christmas falls on. What date is Thanksgiving this year? This calendar can tell you. So where am I going with this?

Most calendars also tell you the cycles of the moon. Yuhp! They have a little chart at the bottom of the page for the symbols of new moon, first quarter, full moon and last quarter. So I began to entertain myself, as I mentioned earlier, flipping through my calendar. I noticed something very interesting. We are going to have a BLUE MOON this summer.

I’m sure most of you have heard the expression, “Once in a blue moon.” Do you really know what that expression means? A blue moon refers to having two full moons in the same month. This will happen in August. The first full moon will happen August 2nd and the second full moon will occur August 31st. Hence, Blue Moon.

I always ask my if it’s a full moon when I’m on the road and people drive like idiots. Well, that could be every day. I’m talking about the extra weird behavior. It is a known fact that the moon has an effect on the gravitational pull on water. Our bodies are made up of over 80% water. I don’t know about where you are, but around the extra crazies come out around the full moon.

Leave a Reply

